top of page


SP4 (2004)

The Leaked And Unreleased Fourth Album...

Sneaker Pimps SP4.jpg


About SP4:

'SP4' is the Sneaker Pimps' following efforts after releasing 'Bloodsport' in 2002. The band had toured up until 2003 and performed some tracks from this album live. Different sources state different album names and reasons why it was cancelled. 'Recall' was supposedly its original album name and it was apparently cancelled, due to record labels not liking what they heard. Another reason was that the songs were very personal to Chris and he didn't feel confident enough to put them out, although they seem to be finished rather than in demo stage. In 2003, Liam posted on the official Sneaker Pimps site stating that he was perfecting the final touches to the tracks with Chris and that it was 90% ready and that it only needed mixing, as most people assume these are demos. The 'Earshot' interview page from this era explains a lot about this album, in more detail. Around this time, Chris had formed his own solo project called 'IAMX' and had released his first album called 'Kiss And Swallow'. A lot of the tracks from 'SP4' were re-worked for the 'Kiss And Swallow' and 'The Alternative' albums, but they still retained a similar sound and feel to the versions found here. These days, 'IAMX' now perform as an entire band, but at this early period, 'IAMX' was just starting out as an experimental project with just Chris and his friends. Even Noel Fielding would join live to perform some tracks. A lot of the material on here is a much darker and alternate take on Sneaker Pimps' earlier work. Sampling, once again is present; from the likes of 'Propaganda' and 'Can', to Grace Jones. Some songs from this album were to be featured alongside a newly recorded soundtrack for a proposed (but never followed through) film called 'Blind Michael' (more information on this can be found on the Background page). Although it is classed as an album, it is actually a double album, due to the amount of songs and the total length exceeding over an hour. From 2004-now, it has been released unofficially, numerous times and in different forms and with different album names and artwork. It is not known if the music was leaked by the band accidentally, or if it was leaked purposely. No imagery exists for the album except for two promo videos for the tracks: 'First And Careless Rapture' (with the camera zoomed upon Chris' mouth as he sings the entire song) and 'Missile' (filmed at a 'Vantage Pharmacy' on Highgate Road in London). All album art, including the one pictured, is unofficial. Most versions of the album that circulate on the web are at an MP3 bitrate of 192KBPS, but some have tracks mixed in that are 320KBPS. To this day, the album remains unreleased.

Digital Edition:

01: First And Careless Rapture

02: This Will Make You Love Again

03: Song Of Imaginary Beings

04: One Method

05: Lolita

06: Ma Fille Concrete

07: Deviate

08: Kiss And Swallow

09: Sailor

10: Tigers

11: Mercy

12: Subway

13: Polaroids

14: Naked But Safe

15: Missile

For more information, please visit:


'First And Careless Rapture' sampled 'The Dance Society's' track: 'My Heart', from 1982.

'Song Of Imaginary Beings' sampled 'Propaganda's' track: 'Dr. Mabuse', from 1985.

'Ma Fille Concrete' sampled 'Can's' track: 'Vitamin C', from 1972.

'Sailor' sampled 'Ultravox's' track: 'Mr. X', from 1980

'Tigers' sampled the 'Siouxsie And The Banshees' track: 'Urban Relapse', from 1978.

'Subway' sampled Grace Jones' track: 'Cry Now, Laugh Later', from 1982.

'Polaroids' (original version) sampled Gary Numan's track: 'Metal', from 1979.

The Collection:

bottom of page